

The Senate

State of Iowa
Eighty-seventh General Assembly
STATEHOUSE
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

For Immediate Release: December 6, 2016 Contact: Caleb Hunter 515-281-6043

Senate Republicans Release Committee Assignments

DES MOINES – Today, Senator Dix announced the following standing committee assignments for the 87th General Assembly:

Appropriations	Agriculture	Commerce
Senator Schneider – Chair	Senator Zumbach – Chair	Senator Anderson – Chair
Senator Kraayenbrink – Vice Chair	Senator Brown – Vice Chair	Senator Breitbach – Vice Chair
Senator Shipley	Senator Shipley	Senator Bertrand
Senator Guth	Senator Kapucian	Senator Sinclair
Senator Lofgren	Senator Edler	Senator C. Johnson
Senator Costello	Senator Segebart	Senator Feenstra
Senator Chelgren	Senator Costello	Senator Zumbach
Senator Bertrand	Senator Rozenboom	Senator Zaun
Senator Garrett		Senator Guth
Senator Rozenboom		
Senator Zumbach		

Education

Senator C. Johnson Senator Greene

Senator Sinclair – Chair Senator Edler – Vice Chair Senator Behn Senator Greene Senator Chelgren Senator Rozenboom Senator Lofgren Senator C. Johnson Senator Kraayenbrink

Ethics

Senator Behn – Chair Senator Guth – Vice Chair Senator Costello

Government Oversight

Senator Breitbach – Chair Senator Sinclair – Vice Chair Senator Lofgren

Human Resources

Senator Segebart – Chair Senator Costello – Vice Chair

Senator Greene Senator C. Johnson Senator Garrett Senator Chapman Senator Chelgren Senator Shipley

Local Government

Senator Garrett – Chair Senator Lofgren – Vice Chair

Senator Guth

Senator Kraayenbrink

Senator Greene Senator Segebart Senator Chelgren

State Government

Senator Smith - Chair

Senator Chapman – Vice Chair

Senator Schultz Senator Feenstra Senator Anderson Senator Zaun Senator Dawson Senator Brown Senator Schneider

Ways and Means

Senator Feenstra – Chair

Senator Behn – Vice Chair

Senator Brown

Senator Dawson

Senator Edler

Senator Breitbach

Senator Anderson

Senator Smith

Senator Schultz

Judiciary

Senator Zaun – Chair

Senator Dawson – Vice Chair

Senator Schneider Senator Sinclair Senator Garrett Senator Shipley Senator Schultz Senator Edler

Natural Resources

Senator Rozenboom – Chair

Senator Shipley – Vice Chair

Senator Breitbach Senator Behn Senator Brown Senator Anderson Senator Kapucian Senator Bertrand

Transportation

Senator Kapucian – Chair

Senator Breitbach – Vice Chair

Senator Kraayenbrink Senator Zumbach Senator Smith Senator Anderson Senator Bertrand Senator Greene

Labor

Senator Schultz – Chair Senator Zaun – Vice Chair

Senator Chapman Senator Brown Senator Costello Senator Breitbach Senator Guth

Rules

Senator Dix – Chair

Senator Whitver - Vice Chair

Senator Behn Senator Schneider Senator Feenstra Senator Sinclair Senator Smith

Veterans Affairs

Senator Costello – Chair Senator Rozenboom – Vice

Chair

Senator Dawson Senator Segebart Senator Edler Senator Lofgren Senator Bertrand Senator Dix also announced the following appropriations subcommittee assignments for the 87th General Assembly:

Administration and Regulation

Senator Guth – Chair Senator Chapman – Vice Chair Senator Zumbach

Education

Senator Kraayenbrink – Chair Senator C. Johnson – Vice Chair Senator Schultz

<u>Transportation, Infrastructures</u> and Capitals

Senator Bertrand – Chair Senator Kapucian – Vice Chair Senator Anderson

Agriculture & Natural Resources

Senator Shipley – Chair Senator Brown – Vice Chair Senator Rozenboom

Justice Systems

Senator Chelgren – Chair Senator Dawson – Vice Chair Senator Garrett

Economic Development

Senator Lofgren – Chair Senator Breitbach – Vice Chair Senator Greene

Health and Human Services

Senator Costello – Chair Senator Segebart – Vice Chair Senator Edler

Finally, Senator Dix also announced the following other committee assignments for the 87th General Assembly:

Administrative Rules Review

Senator Chelgren – Chair Senator Whitver Senator Costello

Legislative Council

Senator Dix – Chair Senator Whitver Senator Schneider Senator Feenstra Senator Behn Senator Zumbach Senator Sinclair

International Relations

Senator Schneider – Vice Chair Senator Kapucian Senator Garrett

The Senate Economic Growth Committee will be eliminated. Every Iowa Senate committee is charged with moving forward legislation that will foster economic growth in this state. An Economic Growth Committee is redundant and unnecessary and as such, it will be eliminated.

"Senate Republicans are focused unwaveringly on economic growth and these committee assignments will implement those positive, limited government, pro-growth policies," said Senator Dix. "I am confident this team places our many talented senators in positions to succeed and implement the policies our members committed to implement."

###